Silverwood Events

Silverwood Events runs a programme of exciting and unusual events across the North West. Uniquely Silverwood Events marries interesting authors and illustrators with quirky and unusual venues. Attending a Silverwood Event is a truly unique experience.

As well as events we run conferences, programme festivals, organise literary dinners. Supporting all our events we can offer a full book sale service.


An Evening with Explorer Levison Wood

Meet explorer, photographer and television presenter Levison Wood as he talks about his latest expedition, and focus of a Channel 4 documentary series, ‘Walking the Himalayas’. Levison will show photographs and entertain the audience with details of his recent trips.

All audience members will receive a copy of ‘Walking the Himalayas’ which Levison will be happy to sign and personalise as a memento of this special evening.

Date: Monday, February 22nd 2016
Time:
7:00 to 9:00 pm
Venue:
The Memorial Hall, Manchester Grammar School, Old Hall Lane. Manchester M13 0XT

YA Authors Juno Dawson and Lisa Williamson celebrate LGBT History Month

Join two of the biggest and most exciting names in Young Adult literature as they celebrate LGBT History month, talk about their writing and the importance of diversity in modern culture.

Lisa Williamson’s extraordinary and life-affirming novel The Art of Being Normal was the bestselling Young Adult debut of 2015. The book has garnered critical acclaim across the board and tells the powerful and poignant story of David Piper who has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth – David wants to be a girl. Sensitively written and told without sensationalism this is one of the most important Young Adult novels of recent years and is unmissable.

Juno Dawson has won multiple awards for her writing including being named as ‘Queen of Teen’. Alongside the popular and much-loved collection of fiction, written as James Dawson and including titles like Hollow Pike, Cruel Summer and All of the Above, Juno has also written a number of highly supportive factual titles including Being a Boy, This Book is Gay and her latest Mind Your Head. Juno is a columnist with Glamour Magazine and is inviting readers to share her journey as she transitions into a woman.

Date: Tuesday, February 23rd 2016
Time:
7:00 to 9:00 pm
Venue:
Lecture Theatre 7 – Geoffrey Manton Building. Manchester Metropolitan University. Manchester M15 6LL

An Evening with Carol Drinkwater

Join actress and author Carol Drinkwater as she marks the publication of her latest novel, ‘The Forgotten Summer’. Known for her award-winning portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC series All Creatures Great and Small, Carol is the author of the nonfiction Olive Farm Series which has sold over a million copies worldwide and inspired The Olive Route – five documentary films following her solo travels around the Mediterranean. She is also the author of three Kindle Singles, two of which have been Number One bestsellers on both sides of the Atlantic.

Tickets are £5 but are redeemable against the purchase of ‘The Forgotten Summer’ on the night:

The annual grape harvest at the Cambon family’s magnificent vineyard in the South of France is always a cause for celebration. But not this year. When an accident destroys the crop, leaving the estate facing ruin, Clarisse Cambon knows exactly who to blame – her daughter-in-law Jane. It’s the latest incident in a decades-long feud whose origin both women have concealed from Luc, who struggles to keep his wife and mother on speaking terms. But is Luc the saint he appears to be? When tragedy strikes, Jane is thrown into doubt. What secrets has her husband been keeping?

Forced to take charge of the ailing vineyard, Jane uncovers further proof that Luc may not be the man she fell in love with twenty years ago. And, worse still, she knows that her old enemy Clarisse is the only one who knows the truth . . .

For fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop, The Forgotten Summer is an atmospheric tale of secrets, forbidden passion and heartbreak, The Forgotten Summer is a perfect book for reading groups.

Date: Tuesday, March 8th 2016
Time:
7:00 to 9:00 pm
Venue:
County Hall – Preston, Lancashire PR1 8RL

Michael Morpurgo – Where My Wellies Take Me

We are delighted to be working with Michael Morpurgo and the Lowry in Salford to bring you this unique event.

Based on Clare and Michael Morpurgo’s book, ‘Where My Wellies Take Me’ follows Pippa, its 8 year old heroine, on a May Day ramble through local woods, farms and fields. This is a performance in words and music from Michael Morpurgo with Natalie Walter and Voices at The Door (Coope, Boyes and Simpson with Jo Freya, Fi Fraser and Georgina Boyes). The concert is in aid of Farms for City Children.

Date: Sunday March 20th 2016
Time:
Matinee Performance starting at 2:00 pm
Venue:
The Lowry, Salford Quays

Irvine Welsh – an Evening With

Cult author Irvine Welsh is appearing at the University of Central Lancashire in advance of the much anticipated release of his new movie, Trainspotting 2 later this year. Irvine will be introducing audiences to his latest novel The Blade Artist which features the return of the terrifyingly inimitable Francis Begbie. Join us for a not to be missed event.

Tickets cover the price of a hardback edition of The Blade Artist which attendees will receive on the night and which Irvine will sign following the event.

Date: Monday April 4th 2016
Time:
7 to 10pm
Venue:
Harrington Lecture Theatre – Harrington Building. University of Central Lancashire. Preston, Lancashire PR1 7BG